10
May
10

xxxo


The first single from M.I.A’s upcoming record was played earlier today on the BBC and it’s already all over the ‘net. It couldn’t be any more different from “Born Free” and to be honest, it’s kind of confusing and mildly boring. After “Born Free” (and the video for it) how does she make the jump into a pretty straight forward dance pop number? I mean, I’m all for variety, but “XXXO” is radio ready to the point of being sort of generic. Don’t get me wrong, I have a huge soft spot for pop music and there are some really great things about the track…but it could have easily been released by her arch nemesis Rihanna or another pop “diva”. I guess all I’m saying is it’s not AT ALL what I expected and it sure is catchy. I guess we’ll see what else she has in store on July 6th.

What do you guys think?

1 Response to “xxxo”


  1. 1 Miss Thing
    05/12/2010 at 7:39 AM

    i’m with you, i think it’s a little dry. but that seems to be the case with almost all the 1st singles from folks this year- not their best songs!


Leave a Reply

